EA Sports FIFA 16 to Include 12 Women's Teams

Posted on July 5, 2015

Electronic Arts will feature women's teams for the first time in EA Sports FIFA 16. The game will feature 12 women's national teams. Alex Morgan from Team USA is one of the players.

The teams included are Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, England, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Spain, Sweden, and the United States. The New York Post reports that players Hope Solo, Megan Rapinoe, and Abby Wambach were at a press conference for the new game in May. The games within the video game include several FIFA 16 game modes including Kick Off, Offline Tournament and Online Friendly Matches.

David Rutter, VP and GM, EA Sports FIFA, says in a statement, "We're making sure fans get an authentic experience when playing with Women's National Teams thanks to our innovative player capture and reference tools, as well as the sophisticated gameplay platform which we will continue to innovate on in FIFA 16."

The game will launch on September 22, 2015. Here is the game trailer showing the women's national teams. It shows some of the players being scanned for the new video game. EA says a 360 degree body scanning rig was used. The company says its mobile headscanning unit traveled to different tournaments and events to capture the facial features of the players, including hairstyles. Take a look:

More from Gamers Game